USHJA Opens Nominations for 2020 Annual Awards

Lexington, Ky.—Mar. 26, 2020—The U. S. Hunter Jumper Association is now accepting nominations for 2020 Annual Awards. Based on member nominations, these awards recognize the significant accomplishments of USHJA members in varying aspects of the sport.

The USHJA Lifetime Achievement Award honors members whose lifelong involvement in the sport and with USHJA has benefited the industry. Recipients have dedicated their lives to furthering the disciplines of hunters and jumpers on a national platform. All active USHJA members are encouraged to nominate a worthy individual for the prestigious award. Last year, Margaret “Sissie” Anderton, of Franklin, Tennessee, and Brian Flynn, of New Albany, Ohio, received the award. Nominations must be submitted by July 31.

The William J. Moroney Visionary Award recognizes an individual, a group, an organization or a corporation who demonstrates endless passion and depth of knowledge of and for the hunter/jumper sport while offering innovative thinking at every opportunity and inspiring others, as well as challenge them to their best at all times. Nominations must be submitted by July 31, however, the award is not necessarily presented annually. In 2019, Larry Langer and Bob Cacchione, two exceptional innovators in the sport, were honored. 

The USHJA Amateur Sportsmanship Award recognizes Amateur Owner and Adult Amateur competitors who exhibit a degree of excellence and integrity by supporting their fellow competitors and volunteering their time and resources to various aspects of the industry. Nominations for the award may come from exhibitors, trainers, colleagues or peers, but the nominee must be an Active or Associate member of the USHJA. In 2019, Page Tredennick, of Wellington, Florida, won the award. Nominations must be submitted by July 31.

The Mrs. A.C. Randolph Owners Legacy Award acknowledges a past or current owner who has been, or is, a true “patron” of the hunter/jumper industry. This award honors an owner who has created a legacy of giving back to the hunter/jumper sport through continued dedication and support. Last year, Ernest and Betty Oare, of Warrenton, Virginia, won this award. Nominations must be submitted by July 31.

The Jane Marshall Dillon Award recognizes equestrians of all professions who have devoted their lives to teaching and mentoring riders beginning their education in the hunter/jumper discipline. These teachers have been instrumental in building future horsemen by instructing their students in proper horsemanship, training and riding while instilling in them the principles of integrity, empathy for the horse and a strong work ethic. Last year, USHJA presented this award to Sunny Stevens, of Ball Ground, Georgia, and Corky Shaha, of Parker, Colorado. Nominations must be submitted by July 31.

The USHJA Vital Horse Show Staff Award recognizes two committed horse show staff members—one from the East Coast and one from the West Coast—who often work behind the scenes but are essential to the success of our horse shows. Nominees do not need to be active members of the USHJA. Last year, Troy Powell, of Sag Harbor, New York, and Julie O’Connor, of Corona, California, received the Vital Horse Show Staff Award for the East and West coast, respectively. Nominations must be submitted by September 1.

The USHJA Nominee for the USEF Youth Sportsman's Award is selected each year. Young riders from every discipline apply through his or her affiliate organizations to be considered for the USEF Youth Sportsman's Award, which is presented annually to a USEF member under the age of 18 who demonstrates an ongoing commitment to the promotion of equestrian sport, serves as a positive role models for their peer, is involved in community activities and exhibits characteristics that exemplify positive sportsmanship principles. In 2019, Ella Doerr, of Avon, North Carolina, was the USHJA nominee. Nominations must be submitted to the USHJA by September 1.

The USHJA Youth Leadership Award aims to identify potential future leaders in the equine industry by recognizing a junior member of the USHJA between the ages of 12 and 15. Last year, Ian McFarlin, of Tallahassee, Florida, was selected as the USHJA Youth Leadership Award recipient. Nominations must be submitted by September 1.

The Licensed Official Emeritus Honorary Designation will be awarded for the first time in 2020. The designation recognizes those who have dedicated their lives to officiating our sport, and nominations will be accepted from current standing committee members and task force members. The recipient must be retired and have worked as a licensed official for a minimum of 25 years. Nominations must be submitted by July 31.

For more information about USHJA awards, including nomination-based awards, visit