Licensed Official Emeritus Honorary Designation

New in 2020, the Licensed Official Emeritus Honorary Designation was created to recognize licensed officials who have dedicated their lives to officiating our sport and have subsequently retired. These essential members of the hunter/jumper community are committed to upholding the standards and traditions that make the sport what we know and love.

Licensed Official Emeritus Honorary Designation Specifications

Nominees must have served in such capacity for a minimum of 25 years and have declared retirement or non-renewal of such licensing and be clear of sport violations to be considered Emeritus. Nominations may come from USHJA Standing Committees and Task Forces to the Awards Committee by July 31 of each year and are open to include any previously USEF “R” Registered Judge, Steward, or Course Designer who was licensed for Hunter, Jumper, Hunter/Jumper Seat Equitation, Hunter Breeding, discipline Course Designers. Up to 5 nominees will be added to the list per year for each of the Hunter, Jumper, Steward and Course Designer Licensee groups. Any qualifying submission not chosen or submitted after July 31 will roll forward to the next year for consideration.

The Licensed Official Emeritus Honorary Designation nomination form is available and nominations close July 31. 

The honorees for these prestigious designation will be recognized at the Evening of Equestrians Awards Dinner during the USHJA Annual Meeting in December.

Past Winners

2023: Carol Molony, Wayne Eubank, Johnny Barker & Dianne Johnson
2022:  Joe Fargis & Rodney Jenkins
2021:  Pauline Cook, Judy Richter and Eleanor Woodward
2020:  Philip DeVita, Sr, Brian Flynn, Raymond Francis, Larry Langer, Diane Morgan-Stasiak, Michael Page and Ronald Rhodes