USEF National Youth Sportsman Award

Application Criteria

USHJA nominees for the USEF National Youth Sportsman Award must be under the age of 17 as of December 1 of the current competition year and active members in good standing with both USEF and USHJA.

Application Process

Submit the following to USHJA:

  • Completed USEF National Youth Sportsman Award application
  • Academic transcript
  • Resume outlining involvement in the sport
  • Three recommendation letters
  • 3"x5" photo of applicant (head and shoulders)

Applications are accepted starting May 1 of each competition year and must be received in the USHJA office or postmarked no later than August 15. All applications are reviewed by USHJA, a recipient and alternate will be selected no later than September 15.

Visit the USEF National Youth Sportsman Award page for the application, award criteria and guidelines.

The USHJA nominee for the USEF Youth Sportsman's Award is recognized at the USHJA Evening of Equestrians Awards Dinner and receives a $500 grant to be used for his or her equestrian training or education. In the event that the nominee is unable to attend the USHJA Evening of Equestrians, an invitation will be extended to the alternate.

Should the USHJA nominee be chosen as the USEF National Youth Sportsman’s Award recipient, he or she receives a commemorative trophy and a $1,000 grant to be paid to an educational program (see funding criteria). The reserve recipient receives a $500 grant to be used for his or her equestrian training or education

Past Winners

2023 - Vivienne Zakrzewski – Setauket, NY
2022: Ryder Richardson – Parker, CO
2021: Carlota Goyeneche – Biscayne, FL
2020: Ian McFarlin - Tallahassee, Florida
2019: Ella Doerr – Avon, NC
2018: Lauren Sanderson – Kensington, NH
2017: Madelyne Brymesser, PA
2016: Chloe Bellerive – Keedysville, MD
2015: Hannah Bentz – Boca Raton, FL
2014: Elizabeth Traband – Center Hall, PA 
2013: Melissa Kerr – Granville, OH
2012:  Henley Adkins – Moorpark, CA
2011:  Jacob Pope – Owings Mills, MD
2010:  Kara Dunegan – Manassas, VA
2009:  Amanda Horn – Huntington, NY
2008:  Madeleine Genereux – Stillwater, MN
2007:  Kels Bonham – Missouri Valley, IA
2006:  Henry Pfeifer – Temperance, MI