Jane Marshall Dillon Award

The Jane Marshall Dillon Award has been created to recognize equestrians of all professions who have devoted their lives to teaching and mentoring riders beginning their education in the hunter/jumper discipline. These teachers have been instrumental in building future horsemen by instructing their students in proper horsemanship, training and riding while instilling in them the principles of integrity, empathy for the horse and a strong work ethic. The winners will have their name placed on the Jane Marshall Dillon Perpetual Trophy, which will reside in the USHJA headquarters in Lexington, Kentucky.

The honorees for these prestigious awards will be recognized during the USHJA Annual Meeting in December.

All active USHJA members are encouraged to nominate a worthy individual for the prestigious award. Written nominations should include the nominee's name, the city and state of residence, supporting accomplishments and accolades, and any other information pertinent to any involvement in the horse industry. Nominators should also include their name, USHJA member number, email address and daytime telephone number so the USHJA may contact them for additional details. Nominations close July 31.

 Jane Marshall Dillon Award Nomination Form 

Past Winners

2023: Mary Morrill & Jane Fennessy
​​​​​​​2022: Peggy Stevens & Mary Gatti
2021: Nancy Whitehead
2020: Nancy R. Jones, Betsy Morret and Kathy Steege
2019: Sunny Stevens and Corky Shaha
2018: Ann Grenci
2017: Donna Martin and Misty Morgan
2016: Patty Ball, Glenn Moody and Joan Waterman
2015: Richard Watson
2014: Meredith Bullock, Joanne Postel & Nancy Turrill
2013: Ralph Caristo, Nick Karazissis & Walter T. Kees
2012: Sissie Andertone, Keiri Kaneps & Laura Pickett
2011: Katharine Baker Sydnor & Diane Johnson
2010: Helen Baker Kelley