Nominations Open for 2021 USHJA Annual Awards

Lexington, Ky.—May 3, 2021—The U.S. Hunter Jumper Association is now accepting nominations for 2021 Annual Awards. Based on member nominations, these awards recognize the significant accomplishments of USHJA members in varying aspects of the sport.

The USHJA Lifetime Achievement Award honors members whose lifelong involvement in the sport and with USHJA has benefited the industry, dedicating their lives to furthering the disciplines of Hunters and Jumpers on a national platform. All active USHJA members are encouraged to nominate a worthy individual for the prestigious award by July 31. The 2020 recipients Lifetime Achievement Award were Susan Ashe, Walter "Jimmy" Lee and Susie Schoellkopf.

The William J. Moroney Visionary Award recognizes an individual, a group, an organization or a corporation who demonstrates endless passion and depth of knowledge of and for the Hunter/Jumper sport while offering innovative thinking at every opportunity and inspiring others, as well as challenge them to their best at all times. Nominations must be submitted by July 31, however, the award is not necessarily presented annually.

The USHJA Amateur Sportsmanship Award recognizes Amateur Owner and Adult Amateur competitors who exhibit a degree of excellence and integrity by supporting their fellow competitors and volunteering their time and resources to various aspects of the industry. Nominations for the award must be submitted by July 31 and may come from exhibitors, trainers, colleagues or peers. The nominee must be an Active or Associate member of the USHJA. Last year, Dr. Brad Wolf won the award.

The Mrs. A.C. Randolph Owners Legacy Award acknowledges a past or current owner who has been or is a true “patron” of the Hunter/Jumper industry. This award honors an owner who has created a legacy of giving back to the Hunter/Jumper sport through continued dedication and support. Nominations must be submitted by July 31. Last year, Barbara Ellison won the award.

The Jane Marshall Dillon Award recognizes equestrians of all professions who have devoted their lives to teaching and mentoring riders beginning their education in the Hunter/Jumper discipline. These teachers have been instrumental in building future horsemen by instructing their students in proper horsemanship, training and riding while instilling in them the principles of integrity, empathy for the horse and a strong work ethic. Nominations for this award must be submitted by July 31. Last year, USHJA presented this award to Nancy Jones, Betsy Morret and Kathy Steege.

The Licensed Official Emeritus Honorary Designation recognizes those who have dedicated their lives to officiating our sport. Nominations will be accepted from current standing committee members and task force members and must be submitted by July 31. The recipient must be retired and have worked as a licensed official for a minimum of 25 years. Last year's recipients were Philip A. DeVita, Sr.; Brian Flynn; Raymond Francis; Larry Langer; Diane Morgan-Stasiak; Michael Page; and Ronald Rhodes.

The J. Arthur “Bucky” Reynolds, II Award of Merit is awarded posthumously for meritorious service to equestrian sport, dedicated to furthering the Hunter/Jumper and/or Hunter Breeding disciplines. Nominations must be submitted by July 31, however, the award is not necessarily presented annually.

The USHJA Vital Horse Show Staff Award recognizes two committed horse show staff members—one from the East Coast and one from the West Coast—who often work behind the scenes but are essential to the success of our horse shows. Nominees do not need to be active members of the USHJA, and nominations must be submitted by August 15. In 2020, Michele Markward and Jan Murphy received the Vital Horse Show Staff Award.

One USHJA Nominee for the USEF National Youth Sportsman's Award is selected each year. Young riders from every discipline apply through his or her affiliate organizations to be considered for the USEF National Youth Sportsman's Award, which is presented annually to a USEF member under the age of 17 who demonstrates an ongoing commitment to the promotion of equestrian sport, serves as a positive role model for their peers, is involved in community activities and exhibits characteristics that exemplify positive sportsmanship principles. Nominations must be submitted to the USHJA by August 15. USEF did not offer the Award in 2020, however, USHJA chose to still recognize a deserving member. Receiving the honor was Ian McFarlin.

The USHJA Youth Leadership Award aims to identify potential future leaders in the equine industry by recognizing a junior member of the USHJA between the ages of 12 and 15. Nominations must be submitted by August 15. Campbell Hudkins was selected as the 2020 recipient.

For more information about USHJA awards, including nomination-based awards, visit