

USHJA Zone 2 Committee Meeting Minutes

Monday, December 14, 2020 - 10:00 a.m. ET

Zone 2 Members Participating: Mark Leone (Chair), Troy Hendricks (Vice Chair), James Benedetto, Katie Benson, Karin Immerman, Claudine Liberatore, Linda Mancini, Tobey McWilliams, Andrew Philbrick and Cynthia Williams. (10)

Zone 2 Members Not Present: Wendy Chapot Nunn (Treasurer), Michael Dowling, Mary Drueding, and Kerry Kocher. (4)

Also Present: Morgan Pearson (Sports Program Coordinator), Kristin Rover (Regional Communications Coordinator) and Lynn Johnson (Sports Program Assistant). (3)

I. Welcome and Roll Call

Mr. Leone called the meeting to order. Ms. Pearson called roll. A quorum was met with ten committee members present.

II. Approve the minutes

Mr. Hendricks motioned to approve the minutes from the October 26, 2020 meeting. Mr. Benedetto seconded the motion. Ms. Benson abstained. The minutes were approved by the rest of the committee.

III. Zone Elections

Ms. Pearson stated the Committee needs to put forth a list of names they would like to submit to Ms. Babick to comprise the Zone Nominating Committee. There should be at least three hunter and three jumper designated names. They must be current Senior Members of USHJA. They cannot be anyone who will be seeking election to the Zone 2 Committee or anyone up for re-election. The Nominating Committee will, after review and verification of membership status, select the individuals who will appear on the ballot for members to vote on, from those names submitted to the Nominating Committee. Nominations can be submitted online by members to be received by the Nominating Committee. Anyone currently on the Committee who does not want to run for re-election should let Ms. Pearson know. They would be eligible to be on the

Nominating Committee. All current members of the Committee will have their term expire November 30, 2021. There are no term limits for Zone Committee members. Newly elected or appointed Zone Committee members will start joining Zone Committee meetings in September or October 2021. Ms. Babick will select the Chair of the Nominating Committee. She will also select the Chair and Vice Chair of the Zone Committee (with the input of the current Zone Committee) after the election results. Chair, Vice Chair and Treasurer have a two-term limit but can still be a Committee member. The Committee submitted names to Ms. Pearson to forward to Ms. Babick for the Nominating Committee. Mr. Leone stated he would not be up for re-election and would like to be on the Nominating Committee.

IV. 2021 Zone 2 Hunter HOTY Championship

Ms. McWilliams updated the Committee regarding this Championship. Potential dates are October 23-24, 2021 with move in date of October 23, 2021 at Devon. Ms. McWilliams mentioned many of the details are still in process at this point and will be discussed with the Committee when finalized. This year will be hunters only. The long-range plan is to have all Zone Finals at one event. *Ms. Mancini made a motion to approve hosting the Zone 2 Hunter HOTY Championship on October 23-24, 2021 at Devon. Ms. Williams seconded the motion. The motion was approved by the Committee.* The Committee will dedicate the 2021 Zone 2 Hunter HOTY Championship to Naomi Blumenthal.

V. Old Business

There was no Old Business to discuss.

VI. New Business

There was no New Business to discuss.

VII. Adjourn

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 11:02 a.m. ET.

Respectfully Submitted,

Lynn Johnson Sports Program Assistant