

USHJA Zone 7 Committee Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, December 16, 2020 – 9:00 a.m. CT/ 10:00 a.m. ET

Zone 7 Committee Members Participating: Nancy Jones (Chair), Carl Hansen (Vice Chair), Joey Brumbaugh (Treasurer), Janis Collette, Matt Cyphert, Genie Harper, Fred Kahn, John McQueen, Patricia Roberts, and Bill Whisenant. (10)

Zone 7 Committee Members Not Present: Valerie Garza, Kalea Maxwell (EXC), Kelly McCabe-Cyphert and Sandra Tabio (EXC) (4)

Also Present: Morgan Pearson (Sports Program Coordinator), Kristin Rover (Regional Communications Coordinator) and Lynn Johnson (Sports Program Assistant). (3)

I. Welcome and Roll Call

Ms. Jones called the meeting to order. Ms. Pearson called roll, with ten committee members present, a quorum was met.

II. Approve the minutes

Mr. Brumbaugh made a motion to approve the minutes from November 2, 2020 with the correction of adding Joey Brumbaugh to "Zone 7 Committee Members Participating". Mr. Whisenant seconded the motion. The motion passed with no abstentions. (Correction made to minutes from November 2, 2020.)

III. Zone Elections

Ms. Pearson stated the Committee needs to put forth a list of names they would like to submit to Ms. Babick to comprise the Zone Nominating Committee. There should be at least three hunter and three jumper designated names. They must be current Senior Members of USHJA. They cannot be anyone who will be seeking election to the Zone Committee or anyone up for re-election. The Nominating Committee will, after review and verification of membership status, select the individuals who will appear on the ballot for members to vote on, from those names submitted to the Nominating Committee. Nominations can be submitted online by members to be received by the Nominating Committee. Anyone currently on the Committee who does not want to run for re-election should let Ms. Pearson know. They would be eligible to be on the Nominating Committee. All current members of the Committee will have their term expire November 30, 2021. There are no term limits for Zone Committee members. Newly elected or appointed Zone Committee members will start joining Zone Committee meetings in September or October 2021. Ms. Babick will select the Chair

of the Nominating Committee. She will also select the Chair, Vice Chair and Treasurer of the Zone Committee (with the input of the current Zone Committee) after the election results. The Chair, Vice Chair and Treasurer have a two-term limit but can still be a Committee member. If a person does not feel they have enough time to do it, they can say no. The Committee compiled a list of names for discussion. They submitted the discussed the list and finalized the list. The Committee submitted the finalized list to Ms. Pearson to forward to Ms. Babick for the Nominating Committee. Ms. Pearson will email the list to the Committee so they can email back their order of preference.

IV. Old Business

There was no Old Business to discuss.

V. New Business

Ms. Dotoli of the Zone Council had asked each Zone to put together names and phone numbers to be used as a Zone hotline list for help with equine disaster info. Ms. Warren asked the Committee to think about this. Committee members stated they felt each state already had this through a state office. This will be discussed further at the beginning of the new year.

Ms. Pearson thanked the Committee for all their hard work and commitment through the past year.

VI. Adjourn

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 10:37a.m. ET.

Respectfully Submitted, Lynn Johnson Sports Program Assistant