Nomination Based Awards

The Mrs. A.C. Randolph Owners Legacy Award

The Mrs. A.C. Randolph Owners Legacy Award was established by the USHJA Owners Task Force in 2011 to acknowledge a past or current owner who has been, or is, a true “patron” of the hunter/jumper industry. This award honors an owner who has created a legacy of giving back to the hunter/jumper sport through continued dedication and support. The perpetual trophy was donated by EMO Agency, Inc.

Mrs. A.C. Randolph truly exemplified the attributes in an owner that this award is designed to honor. Randolph was intimately involved in many aspects of the horse industry. She bred and raised horses that had success at the race track, in the show ring and in the hunt field. Besides her success as an owner of show horses that garnered many Horse of the Year Awards, she was instrumental in starting the Drug and Medication Program and served as master of the Piedmont Fox Hounds for more than 40 years. Some of her most notable show horses were Quiet Flite (who was inducted into the National Show Hunter Hall of Fame in 2011), Black Atom, War Dress, Army Wife, Greenland and Sky Ghost. On three different occasions, Randolph’s horses were grand champion and reserve grand champion at Devon, a feat that is unlikely to ever be duplicated. Perhaps most importantly, she encouraged young riders to follow their dreams and talent, and many notable horsemen got their start riding Randolph-owned horses, including Kathy Kusner, Rodney Jenkins and the late Charlie Weaver.


Randolph was honored as the recipient of the USEF Jimmy Williams Lifetime Achievement Award in 1995 and was also inducted into the National Show Hunter Hall of Fame. Randolph’s legacy as a knowledgeable, involved, honest and caring owner is memorialized through the naming of this award in her honor, and these attributes are the standard for each future recipient of the Owners Legacy Award.

Award Criteria

  • The individual has demonstrated exemplary sportsmanship.
  • The individual has demonstrated continued dedication and support of the hunter/jumper discipline by owning horses for others to compete.
  • The individual has demonstrated dedication for the sport by supporting various equestrian events, programs, initiatives and/or causes, either as a volunteer or through financial support.
  • The individual has served as a role model for other equestrians.
  • Award may be given posthumously
  • All nominees will automatically remain in contention for this award in subsequent years.
  • Winners of the trophy are not eligible for further nomination.
  • Members of the Owners Task Force are not eligible for nomination

Nominations are accepted from any member of the USHJA. The 2018 Owners Legacy Award nomination will close July 31, 2018. The Awards Committee will review all nominations and select the recipient. The award will be presented during the Evening of Equestrians Awards Dinner at the USHJA Annual Meeting in December.

Archive 2014-2011

2015 - Harry and Mollie Chapman
2014 - R. Bruce Duchossois
2013 - Wilhelmine Stewart Kirby Waller
2012 - Harry Gill
2011 - Helen Lenahan

Helpful Information
Other Awards:
Owner Recognition Award
Amateur Sportsmanship Award
Marla Holt - (859) 225-6710