USHJA and the Youth Committee are proud to announce the 2014 Horsemanship Quiz Challenge Finals will be hosted by the University of Findlay November 13 – 16, 2014, at the James L. Child, Jr. Equestrian Complex at the University of Findlay.

Each year, the top-three finalists in each zone and the top-10 individuals nationally who have not qualified by being on a zone team, based on Level Two Quiz scores of 90% or higher, are invited to compete at the HQC Finals. The three top-scoring finalists in each zone comprise the zone teams. These finalists also compete as individuals.

The HQC Finals may incorporate an Intercollegiate Horse Show Association Team and/or a United States Pony Club Team in addition to the 12 zone teams. HQC participants who are also IHSA or USPC members may declare participation with either their respective zone, IHSA or USPC Team once they become eligible for HQC Finals. Participants who declare for a team as stated above and do not make the team may be eligible to be an individual national finalist providing their Level Two scores qualify for an individual position. If, at a later time, a spot opens up on their declared team, they may be invited to participate in the Finals with their team.


2013 HQC Finals Results

1st Overall - Georgia Skelton, Zone 5
2nd Overall - Sara Sprague, Zone 1
3rd Overall - Morgan Bullock, Zone 4

Highest Written Test Score - Anna Meurer, Zone 5
Highest Practicum Score - Morgan Bullock, Zone 4

1st Place Team- Zone 9
(Bailey Fuller, Rachel Pekala, Rebekah Polacek)
2nd Place Team - Zone 4
(Hannah Bentz, Ashley Bradom, Morgan Bullock)
3rd Place Team - Zone 5
(Anna Meurer, Stephanie Prince, Georgia Skeleton)


The Experience

Horsemanship has been a very important component of the EAP from the start; therefore, as a portion of the HQC Finals experience, participants audit intensive riding and horsemanship sessions led by world-renowned clinicians and stable managers during the EAP National Training Session. Additional clinics, such as veterinary seminars, trimming and shoeing, saddle-fitting, massage therapy and feeding regimens may be offered. In addition to these seminars, all finalists participate in a mock hands-on practicum to test their current knowledge of various horsemanship and stable management applications. Everyone, regardless of age or experience, can benefit from the years of experience and knowledge the clinicians share with the group.

All participants take a final written exam that may include multiple-choice, true/false and fill-in-the-blank formats. The three zone teams with the highest Finals written exam scores advance to the hands-on practicum. Additionally, the top three individuals not already on a practicum-qualified team will also participate in the practicum as an individual competitor. The hands-on practicum is taken separately by these 12 individuals and may include handling a horse and horse-related equipment. Each team member’s scores are combined to determine the overall team score.

The Prize

The highest-scoring zone team and highest-scoring individual finalist are named the overall winners of the HQC Finals. Each winner receives a gold medal, a Charles Owen helmet and a $1,000 grant for training and education (e.g., lessons, clinics, camps). The second place zone team and individual receive a silver medal, and the third place team and individual receive a bronze medal. The $4,000 in training grants are generously supported by the USHJA Foundation.


In 2013, the Horsemanship Quiz Challenge Finals were again held in conjunction with the Emerging Athletes Program National Training Session at the University of Findlay November 15 through 17.

The 2014 Horsemanship Quiz Challenge Program is supported in part by a generous grant from the United States Equestrian Federation.

Additional Links
College Equestrian Lettering Program
Scholarship Listing
Allison Eneguess – (859) 225-6703